Spring , an Orchard and Kittens


050405

SLS 050405

“This goodness is the only thing that can ever save us. It is what grace looks like, this unmerited, freely given spiritual WD-40. Grace means that love is bigger than any dark weird shit life can throw at you, or even that we can throw at our nutty, tender, worried, exuberant, baby selves. All truth is paradox.”  Anne Lamott

TED Talk link that impacted me yesterday

http://www.ted.com/talks/david_steindl_rast_want_to_be_happy_be_grateful

May 4, ‘15

The weather and color today is much the same as it was ten years ago on South Lake St.  Warm, with breeze and soft clouds in a milky sea of pale, but warm blue.   Fuzzy greenish-yellow almost-leaves on most trees except for the trees where the almost-leaves are a deep fuzzy pink.

I’m barefoot, short sleeves and suitable for at-home and in the yard pajama pants.  That’s how warm it is.  A few windows and my screen door are open.  This breeze is refreshing.  Earlier, I went to the basement to do laundry.  It was quite cool down there.  When I came back up and into my kitchen and stepped into the warmth, I momentarily thought I’d turned the heat up way too high.

When I looked at the photo of the painting from South Lake St earlier, the first thing I remembered from that day was that the High School Marching Band was practicing their drills in a large field on the other side of the trees behind my house.  I had an hour of band music wafting in with the breeze.   Throughout the month of May, there would be band music almost every school day up until Memorial Day.  Today, here on Brookside Ave.  I’ve been listening to birds, people on the street, occasional cars passing by and the hum of traffic from the nearby Interstate.  All the trees I see from my window are all the colors of the trees in the painting.

Today is a wonderful Spring day!

********

PIC_9752

Preliminary sketch for proposed Calendar page from on-site sketch, photo reference & Memories….

I’ve taken time off from my cataloging and refurbishing unfinished paintings to work on what I’d like to be a painting for the month of April for a calendar page.  I have 9 paintings complete but am lacking April, May and June.  The scenes in the proposed calendar are all from the farm next door to my mother’s house, where I grew up and where my mother still lives.

This preliminary sketch depicts the Peach Orchard that is near the barn that was built for and is still used as an Apple Storage and Salesroom.  There are many orchards around the farm but they’re mostly Apples.  The  peach orchard trees and blossoms differ from the Apple trees and always reminded me of a van Gogh painting I saw in a book when I was quite young.  Since then, I’ve read van Gogh’s letters  & recall several passages where he wrote about painting in a pear orchard and share his excitement when facing an orchard full of peach trees on a balmy spring day.

********

PIC_9715

The Kittens are well on their way to being Young Cats.  They’ve gone from tiny and cute as bugs to small and cute as bugs but I can see that their legs are longer, their tails are longer and they have much more strength in their bones.  They’ve also put on weight.  They aren’t  fat, just somewhat bigger than they were last week or the week before.  From the length of their legs I’m wondering if they’re going to be large adults.

They both have very affable personalities.  They’re both cuddlers with Hilly being more of a cuddler than Bill.  Bill is a hearty eater – he woofs down his food and then goes after Hilly’s food.  Hilly knows how to stand up for himself with a kittenish growl.  They play well together.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Spring , an Orchard and Kittens

  1. beetleypete says:

    That first painting from 10 years ago is a delight. Such clean and sharp lines on the house, contrasting with the mixed colours on the trees.
    The cats look content and happy. If they are, that will transfer its goodness to you.
    Best wishes as always, Pete.

  2. Ann Getsinger says:

    I look forward to seeing the collection for the calendar. And… more kitten pics!

  3. Kathy says:

    I am, as always, amazed at your artist’s renderings. Those trees are evoke such an interesting feeling. So do the cats. Their symmetry. Hope you had a Happy Mother’s Day. I do not remember if you’re a mom. If you’re not, then for the nurturing you do.

  4. beetleypete says:

    Hi Gretchen. It is such a long time since you posted anything, I am just adding this comment to ask if all is well, and to see if you are OK. If you are not in the mood for blogging, feel free to contact me by e-mail. petejohnson50@yahoo.com
    Just to let you know that you are not forgotten!
    Best wishes from England, Pete.

  5. chris ludke says:

    hi Gretchen,
    How are you? Shelby and I miss you on the blogosphere. Hope you are ok

    • Hi Chris and Shelby, Happy New Year and thank you for your note. I miss being on the blogosphere and miss seeing your blogs. I got to a place in my life last spring where I had to take on a lot of outside work in order to be able to afford to stay in my apartment so don’t have the time to blog that I used to have. I constantly think I’ll be back, but so far, just haven’t made the time. One of the things I didn’t give up was my few hours per week where I have time to paint. I’ve been working on a bunch of daily paintings from my porch all summer and my bay window this past fall and up to today. If you’re on Facebook and would like to see them I’m at Gretchen Getsinger — Watercolor Artist and would love it if you’d stop by and see what I’ve been doing. I hope things are good with you and that you’re still blogging. It was good to hear from you! GG

      On Thu, Dec 31, 2015 at 7:55 PM, Process; our most important product wrote:

      >

      • chris ludke says:

        oh, ok. glad you’re still kicking up there! I’ll tell shelby. My daughter, Sarah, put me on facebook too. It’s just too much computer work for me. Next time I talk to her I’ll tell her to friend you’re facebook page so we can see what you’re doing. Mine is Chris Ludke artist. Sarah is the social media guru, it’s not easy for me. I can do email and wordpress. I lost interest after that., but she says you HAVE to have facebook. Have a good new year. ttyl.

Leave a Reply

