Mud Season


 03Easter05

SLS 032705

Come with rain, O loud Southwester!

 Bring the singer, bring the nester;

 Give the buried flower a dream;

 Make the settled snow-bank steam;

 Find the brown beneath the white;

 But whate’er you do to-night,

 Bathe my window, make it flow,

 Melt it as the ice will go;

 Melt the glass and leave the sticks

 Like a hermit’s crucifix;

 Burst into my narrow stall;

 Swing the picture on the wall;

 Run the rattling pages o’er;

 Scatter poems on the floor;

 Turn the poet out of door.

Robert Frost

Mar. 14, ‘15

The color of my immediate world today is similar to the color in this painting from Mar 27, ’05 – which was also Easter, that year.

Grassy spots are beginning to appear on lawns, and in fields.  The bare ground is a muddled, green-gray-brownish color.  The roads –and most paved areas — are shiny and wet from the rain we had all night and from melting snow all day.  The temperature is in the low 40’s – definitely a warming trend compared to the very low temperatures we’ve been experiencing throughout the past 2 months.  There are still large areas covered with snow but those areas are dirty, gray and rotten at the edges.

In the past few days, my compost buckets reappeared as the height of the snow was reduced by melting.  Quite soon I’ll be obliged to deal with those bukets; as soon as I can stir the contents.  I have 6 2 lb. coffee cans stacked on my back porch that are filled with egg shells and kitchen scraps from the past 3 months to add to the compost buckets.  With the melting snow, I can almost see a way clear to wheel my recycle bin to the curb.  My recyclables have reached critical mass.  When the bin is emptied, I have a huge garbage bag filled with recyclables to place in the bin plus the empty coffee cans presently containing kitchen scraps.

I’m looking forward to the beginning stages of working on Garden ’15!

Around 9:30 a.m., the power suddenly went out.  All winter I’ve hoped this wouldn’t happen because without power, no heat and without heat, frozen pipes – and many other hardships.  When the power went out this morning, it was inconvenient but with the temp in the low 40’s, not nearly as frightening as it would have been last week or the week before.  Power was restored a little after 10.

Mud Season seems to be here officially.  It’s a dirty and messy time, but one of the sure signs of Spring!

*******

In recent days I’ve spent much time re-working many more paintings.  I’ve given quite a few a good wash in the tub before re-working all the tones from dark to light.  I’ll post more photos when the changes I’ve made are apparent.

The past 3 or 4 days have been most peaceful. Today is the only day we’ve had gray skies and rain.  The days with sun have been wonderful.  I’ve had visits and lunches with friends and my mother.  I work on my paintings while listening to TED talks on Youtube for hours at a time.   Sometimes I listen to hours of classical music, also on Youtube.

Albert is doing well for a sick cat.  He’s still enjoying his life and is sleeping next to me.  I’m grateful for every day that he’s as well as he is.

03SPRING05

SLS 0322105

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mud Season

  1. That’s a wonderful poem, and one of Frost’s that I was not familiar with. It sounds like your surroundings are much like mine today. I wish I was working in the studio, as you are! Happy Spring, Gretchen!

  2. beetleypete says:

    I can really ‘feel’ the texture in that painting Gretchen, and I like it a lot.
    Mud season is upon us here too, despite little rain, and no snow, we still get the thick mud. Strange.
    Glad to hear that Albert is doing well, and that you will soon see a New England Spring.
    Best wishes as always, Pete.

Leave a Reply

