Art, not drama….


Dec 15, ‘14

Learning to make art rather than make drama from a heated imagination is a skill best learned early and practiced fully.

Julia Cameron

???????????????????

From Dec 12,’14

???????????????????

Dec 15, ’14

Cherries in Pussy Willow Bowl

Sunny today, and in the low 40’s.

The mailman has come and gone; the ‘check in the mail’ has yet to come….  Feeling quite uneasy….

Working hard to keep my mind in the moment, not allowing it to leap into the fearful territory of the ‘what if’s’.

I’m enjoying my morning in the sun, working the painting of the cherries in the blue bowl.  Albert is sleeping in a patch of sun on the floor.  Birb, the parakeet, is in her cage on a small table near the window.  She’s also enjoying the sun.

I’m listening to Rigoletto as I work.  This is one of my favorite operas because there’s not one song that I don’t like.  I have no idea as to story line and don’t understand a word the singers are singing.  What I enjoy is the sound of the instruments and voices arranged in music that evokes so much feeling and passion.  It’s calming as well as inspirational.

As much as I love my R&B and my R&R, I love other kinds of music as well.  Opera is one, Bach, Beethoven, Schubert, Mozart, another.  I also love Gospel and Soul, Disco…!

A few weeks ago I decided I needed a musical change so went online to do some shopping.  I found an affordable Mozart CD – a  ‘best-of’ – on *Bay for Ninety nine cents + $2.85 shipping.  I won the bid and it’s now mine.

The Rigoletto CD was not to be found on *Bay at this time, so I went to Am*zon and purchased it for less than $5, including shipping.  I would have been very happy with any old Rigoletto but as luck would have it, this one stars Luciano Pavrotti, whose beautiful, emotive voice was what initially attracted me to opera, many years ago.

I once had the good fortune to have seen Luciano Pavrotti, at the Hartford (CT) Coliseum.  His voice so strong and sweet, was so powerful it threatened to lift the roof off the Coliseum.  A quite elderly Katherine Hepburn was sitting in a seat a few rows behind me.

********

I’ve done much work on the cherries in the blue bowl painting this past weekend.  With Kleenex and Q-tip, I’ve taken off much of the original paint — as close to white paper as I possibly can.  In many areas that I’ve taken down, I’ve also built back up.  The work has kept my mind off my fears and woes and in a state of serenity for hours.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Art, not drama….

  1. beetleypete says:

    The cherries are looking really good Gretchen.
    I am glad that you were able to enjoy Pavarotti in Rigoletto. He does have a great voice, and his rendition of ‘Nessun Dorma’ (from Turandot) is definitely my favourite. I have never seen him sing, so you are very lucky to have experienced that.
    I am sorry to hear that you have worries about the overdue cheque, and I hope that it arrives soon.
    Very best wishes from England, Pete.

  2. Oh, I hate waiting for money…I live too close to the edge to be able to wait, without trepidation. This work is lovely! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

