Floorcloth Update, Mar 28, ’14


 

Red Tumbling Blocks and Flowers/DD, Installed Mar 28, ‘14

Image

Outside

Image

Inside

My client hasn’t seen her new Floorcloth, yet.  I’m hoping she’ll see it tomorrow morning and I’m some anxious/anticipatory to hear what she thinks of it.  Right now, it looks stiff and shiny; I’m hoping the stiffness will ‘relax’ and the shine turn into a dull glow after a month or so with people walking on it, coming in and out.  It’s in the entry way of a weekend home where there are usually quite a few guests as well as the owners, from early Spring to late Fall.

I made a Floorcloth for the entry way in 2009.  It wasn’t as large nor was it as well fortified with multi-layers of Polyurethane as the new one.  I’m hoping the new one is good for 12 years.  Only time will tell….

I brought the old one home with me to refurbish.  It feels like a limp rag.   Much of the surface is worn and the paint has faded.   I haven’t decided how I’m going to refurbish it and maintain the design.  I’ll think about that while I’m cleaning and then patching it.

Image.

*******

Image

Blue Tumbling Blocks/GG  (WIP)

Blue Tumbling Blocks has been ‘sharpened-up’ and is ready for the Grand Finale.  I have yet to come up with how I want to fill the corner spaces and the center spaces on the long sides. 

********

Image

Sunflowers & Crows/GG  (WIP)

I’ve lightened this image considerably.  I also had fun with the blue in the center.  The blue that was there previously seemed to me dull, lifeless and flat. I felt that space needed motion.   I looked at it one day last week and my heart sank because I felt it was too dark and I knew how much work it would be to give it more light.  It took me 2 days; I’m glad I took the time to do it because now, it makes me happy.   I’m still undecided as to how I want to treat the border. 

********

Today has been gray, chilly and rainy. The forecast called for heavier rain after dark and they were correct.  It’s been a long day and I’m tired.  I’m enjoying a feeling of satisfaction that Floorcloth #1 is finished, out of my house and where it was designed to go. 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Floorcloth Update, Mar 28, ’14

  1. beetleypete says:

    Looks great Gretchen, and you must be very satisfied with your achievement. It looks far too good to actually walk on though. I think I would have to hang it on a wall!
    Best wishes from England, Pete.

Leave a Reply

