FLOORCLOTH PROGRESS/end February, ‘14


Image

Image

Image

#1.  Sunflowers and Crows

#2 Blue Tumbling Blocks

#3 Red Tumbling Blocks/Flower Border

Feb 27, ‘14

Greetings from the Polar Vortex and the land of relentless cold….  The temp at 7 a.m. was 9.  Getting out from under the covers this morning was extremely difficult.

We had a few hours of almost-sun earlier today but the sky became more and more troubled by dark clouds and at this writing, the entire sky is pre-storm gray.  A stiff wind makes things feel colder; just hearing it, I feel colder. 

I’ve been working on these 3 floor cloths for the past two or more weeks.  I ran out of oil paint, so haven’t been working on my easel paintings.

The large floor cloth (#3) is a commission so I’ve been focused on finishing that while the client is in the Caribbean.  I want it to be done and out of here (and hopefully paid for) by mid-March.  At this point, I consider it 98% done; the 2% margin is for any tweaking I may feel necessary.  After that, I’ll give it 2 or more coats of Polyurethane and that will finish it.

I fixed the reddish border on Blue Tumbling Blocks a few days ago.  I’m happy with it, now.  I don’t know what else to do with the red border or the outside blue, but I do have a few ideas cooking in my mind.  I’ll figure that one out with some research into my archives and while I’m playing Angry Birds.  Often my best thinking occurs while playing Angry Birds.  I’ve also spent quite a bit of time working on Sunflowers and Crows and it’s starting to feel ‘right’ to me.

I think I spend more time looking at these 3 floorcloths and working out ideas than I do in the actual painting.  That’s because it’s so cold and the heat in my house so low that I have more time to sit under blankets and close to the radiator than I do to actually stand up and work on these things on the table.  I usually work on them at the table between 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. when the temp outside is the highest.  I make my plan, squeeze out my colors and work as fast as I can until I’ve used up the paint I squeezed out and then go back to the radiator to warm up.  If we have a sunny day with no wind, I can work until an hour or so before sunset.

I don’t have any definite plans for Sunflower/Crows or Blue Tumbling Blocks.  When I started them I was thinking perhaps I’d try to sell them on Esty or Craig’s List.  I’m still too much in a torpor – in hibernating/survival mode — to think too far ahead. ‘Too far ahead’ is any time after the next few hours. Working on them, whether making plans or actually painting,  puts me in my ‘happy place’ and helps keep my Cabin Fever & Winter Woes within manageable parameters, keeps me hopeful, helps take away some of the sting of this dreadful winter of ‘13/’14.

I’m glad that they’re all almost done.  That means to me that Spring is that much closer.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FLOORCLOTH PROGRESS/end February, ‘14

  1. beetleypete says:

    I think your three pieces are delightful Gretchen, and you should be justifiably proud of them.
    I am sorry that you are suffering so much with the cold, and beset by the fearful winter over there. We have had the mildest winter for 200 years (or thereabouts…), but the most rain too.
    Mind you, there is snow forecast nearby for tonight, and falling temperatures this weekend, so I will not speak too soon.
    Hoping for a speedy end to your weather woes, my best wishes as always, Pete.

    • I recently read that the entire world has had a very warm winter with the exception of the US mid-west and particularly the US east coast. Here, the forecast is for more cold and a snow storm early next week.

      Thanks for kudos re: floorcloths; helps me keep my attitude on the light side.

      Looking forward to spring-time sun and temps as soon as possible. I think we’ve all had enough.

Leave a Reply

