Solstice and Spring Cleaning


Image

I dwell in Possibility –

A fairer House than Prose –

More numerous of Windows –

Superior – for Doors –

 

Of Chambers as the Cedars –

Impregnable of eye –

And for an everlasting Roof

The Gambrels of the Sky –

 

Of Visitors – the fairest –

For Occupation – This –

The spreading wide my narrow Hands

To gather Paradise

Emily Dickinson

December 21, ‘13 

What a sunny, warm and beautiful day, today.  I sat at the window looking up into the powder blue sky and wispy clouds passing over for quite awhile before I thought to take a photo.  In the less than 45 seconds it took to find the camera and sit down again, the sky had changed and the sun was starting to go down.  It was a very short day, but one full of sun and warmth – a wonderful day for a Solstice. 

What a difference a few days make.  Today was bright and sunny with warmth and a look and feel of Spring.    Many of the sounds today were spring-like, too, notably the sound of water running down the drain pipe like a Spring Brook ….   Snow melting on the roof and the drops pattering onto the ground….   The song in my heart….  When I looked out the back window this morning it took my mind a few moments to register that I was seeing blue sky reflected in a puddle of water, not ice. 

 I’ve done some work on my series but for the most part, I did Spring Cleaning.  It was a good day to get things into a semblance of  order after the past few weeks of cold and snow.  Much Stuff has been picked up, put away, thrown away, wiped off, scrubbed, mopped, vacuumed and straightened out.  My trash has been placed in the bins.   The kitchen scraps I’ve been saving for the past 3 weeks have been melded into the compost pile.  My kitchen floor is smooth and clean.  I baked a Carrot Cake.  

Happy Solstice to all.  Let there be Light!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Solstice and Spring Cleaning

  1. Kathy says:

    What a difference a few days can make, both with the outer and inner weather. I was panicking with to much to do earlier this week and now feel relaxed and playful. Your clean house sounds divine! Would you like to come over and clean mine?

  2. Oh, this gives me hope! That’s what I am looking forward to…the results of a good cleaning before the winter settles in to stay!

  3. beetleypete says:

    Spring cleaning in December! Well done Gretchen. I have also done a lot of housework this weekend, as we had guests on Saturday for dinner, and family all day today, for a big lunch. It is almost 10.30pm as I type, and feels more like 1am, I am so tired. I did enjoy your post today, and would have liked a piece of that carrot cake with my coffee.
    Regards from England, as always, Pete.

Leave a Reply

