December 14, ’13 Storm Day


Image

“All the leaves are brown
And the sky is grey
I went for a walk
On a winter’s day
I’d be safe and warm
If I was in L.A.
California dreamin’
On such a winter’s day.”
–  Mammas and Pappas,

December 14, ‘13

Storm Day:  The first time I heard this song was a day much like today but once-upon-a-time when I was much younger.  Being a somewhat Blank Slate and Impressionable, I’ve never forgotten this song and it pops into my mind as if by pre-set agreement on a gray and snowy day such as today.  On a day such as today when I traditionally wonder to myself why the hell I never got out of New England when I was young and unburdened by Stuff and Circumstance.

Something Emily Dickinson and I have in common; we love New England and have commitments here.

Albert, my fe-lion buddy, and I are nested on the couch on 2 down-filled mattresses on a thick futon mattress and under a down comforter. 

(I’m now commending myself for collecting all these down-filled items for my comfort on days such as today, especially because this nest is warm and comfortable and helps make Hunkering Down Time slightly more bearable.)

Albert is wearing his beautiful fur and is curled up like a wooly bear against the pillows.  I’m sitting upright at my computer on the coffee table in front of me.  I’m wearing too many layers of clothing to itemize.  I’m also wearing a scarf around my neck to seal off any heat that may want to escape from the confines of those multitudinous layers –and a scarf over my head, over my wool beret and wrapped over the scarf that’s wrapped around my neck.  The Art of Layering….  Seem complicated?  Well, it is and is one of the reasons I dislike winter.

I turned the furnace on this morning for an hour and then I spent some time in the kitchen washing up and doing some cooking.

I had cookies for breakfast so for a more nourishing lunch I made a Cilantro Pesto.  I used 4 cloves of Garlic and a lot of grated Parmesan and served it over hot angel hair pasta.  After eating so much garlic, I have no fear of were-wolves — at the moment.  I bought the Cilantro yesterday when I went to the supermarket for Storm Food.  I wanted Kale but there wasn’t any so opted for the Cilantro for a hefty boost of nourishing Green.  It was a good choice.  Cilantro always smells great but on a cold and gray day as yesterday, it was most inspiring and refreshing.

I thought I might paint for a few hours this morning but it’s dank and chilly outside the confines of this nest so instead, I lounged around on Facebook for all of those work hours – and more!  On a Storm Day, one is allowed  indulgences….  My normal Storm Indulgence is Chocolate but I was given a box of Chocolate cookies filled with chocolate candy so no need for lowly Snickers. 

Two days ago is one year since I got the Notice to Vacate on my door when I came home from work.    Today is one year since the school shooting in Newtown.   

It’s a good day for a snow storm and harsh memories purged and covered by falling snow.  It’s a good day for Indulgences and to be hunkered by the radiator in a down-filled nest with a sleeping fe-lion friend and to reflect on what was and what is and wonder what will be.  It’s a good day for a nap.  It’s a good day for thought and prayer.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to December 14, ’13 Storm Day

  1. beetleypete says:

    Love the Mamas and Papas, and had the same thoughts about sunny California, all those years ago Gretchen.
    Sorry to hear that you are so cold, and wrapped up so well to stay warm. Still, at least you have all the down quilts necessary, by the sound of it.
    I don’t know what Cilantro is, I don’t think we have that here, or maybe it is known by another name, but that dinner sounds tasty.
    This is a post that takes me to your house in New England. I can see you sitting there, and feel the cold.
    Regards as always, Pete.

  2. i love this post…I can just picture you all nestled in among the comforters!

  3. Kathy says:

    I feel almost warm after reading your post and singing the Mamas and Papas in my head. Cilantro pesto! You sound like a friend with whom I might enjoy lunch!

    • Always a food adventure in my house and if you’re ever in CT, let me know & I’ll invite you over. Cilantro Pesto was wonderful! I’d definitely make it again. Just like making Basil Pesto except using Cilantro. Something about the green-ness of it and the wonderful aroma has given me a lift. Thanks, Kathy!

Leave a Reply

