Fall Back Day


Image

“With the last red berries…”

NOVEMBER

November comes

And November goes,

With the last red berries

And the first white snows.

With night coming early,

And dawn coming late,

And ice in the bucket

And frost by the gate.

The fires burn

And the kettles sing,

And earth sinks to rest

Until next spring.

 Elizabeth Coatsworth

November 3, ‘13

For all intents and purposes, this is probably my last big haul from the raspberry patch outside my front door.  I picked these yesterday, when the sun was highest and making things quite warm.  The sky was intensely blue and there were a few bees buzzing around in the berry patch as I picked.  The air smelled earthy and sweet and children were riding their bikes up and down the street with all kinds of laughter and chatter.   As I stood picking in the center of the patch, I thought of Grandfather from Little Big Man. In that moment,  it felt like a good day to die.

Image

 

Today is Fallback day, the first day back to Standard time from Daylight Savings time.  This is NOT my favorite time of year, when night comes early….    Night will be here in a little over an hour and it seems far too early.   

Image

 

This is the tree in front of my house.  I took the photo from my front window, the one that faces the street.  The colors lift my heart every time I walk into the room.

The colors from this tree give me a great deal of pleasure in all seasons but this flamboyant display of color in the brilliant sunshine of the past few has peaked anything else this tree has to offer.  Seen from a distance, it looks like a red glowing,  amorphous shape, settled over branches and is lighting up this corner of the street.  The color of the leaves and the color of the sky are the finest in eye candy color.

Image

 

 

This photo shows most of my Raspberry Patch – er Bramble.  My Raspberry Bramble!  I celebrate it now and will be celebrating it as I eat raspberries this winter.  That so much goodness & pleasure came from this small area of Bramble still amazes me!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fall Back Day

  1. I love that tree! Wish I had one close around my house to look at!

  2. beetleypete says:

    The red leaves on that tree are truly amazing Gretchen. Nice to have it to look at, so close to the house.
    We got the same thing, losing an hour, at the end of last month, so it is now dark by 4.30pm.
    Regards from Norfolk, Pete.

Leave a Reply

