Winter is icumen in….


Image

Winter is icumen in,  

Lhude sing Goddamm,

Raineth drop and staineth slop,

And how the wind doth ramm!

     Sing: Goddamm.

Skiddeth bus and sloppeth us,

An ague hath my ham.

Freezeth river, turneth liver,

     Damm you; Sing: Goddamm.

Goddamm, Goddamm, ’tis why I am, Goddamm,

     So ‘gainst the winter’s balm.

Sing goddamm, damm, sing goddamm,

Sing goddamm, sing goddamm, DAMM.

Ezra Pound

 

Oct. 25, ‘13

I read the above poem many years ago and since then, the first 2 lines pop into my head at certain times of year, specifically around the time of First Frost. 

I’ve been singing that little song for days.  Winter….Goddamm, goddamm, goddamm……..

I was so certain that there would be a frost last night that I covered my tomatoes and some houseplants I have yet to bring inside.

And goddamm if I’ll turn up the heat.  As cold as it has gotten, I have yet to humiliate/humble myself to the scourge of Big O*l.

I slept under a down comforter and a quilt last night.  Winter must be coming because I had a big warm cat nestled up to my chest, which is quite unusual as Albert normally sleeps at my feet or at the end of the bed.

I started ‘suiting-up’ for the day the minute I sat up to get out of bed.  Heavy knee socks, my ugly old very warm robe, my wool beret….    With all that preparation,  I wasn’t quite prepared; an involuntary goddamm erupted from my mouth the minute I threw the covers back and put my feet on the floor.

Goddamm, it’s cold….

Tip-toed over to the front window to survey the situation outside.

But, (drum roll, please)  NO frost!

Close, but no cigar…..

The sun is rising and hopefully, those many green tomatoes will become a little less green.

The Raspberry bushes are still living.  I picked half a quart’s worth yesterday and with today’s sun, perhaps a few more raspberries today.

********

I have so many good reasons for my procrastinations.  There’s a bad case of the ‘But Firsts…’ going on here.

For instance:  I’ll bring in the plants But First I need somewhere to put them so I’ll have to search for  appropriate shelving.   With the shelving found, bought, brought home and established the But Firsts had to do with moving existing furniture to other places, cleaning the places where they’d been, moving stuff to other places in the house etc etc  etc. With all that done and the shelving in the right window I can now bring in the plants.  But First I need to wait for Carl to come and help me open the window, pull down the storm window and shut the inside window because the window is too hard for me to move.  Now, Carl has been and gone but there were too many But Firsts after that to bring in all of the plants, just some.  If the But Firsts don’t pile up on me, I just might bring in those plants this afternoon….

When I went outside this morning to take the coverings off the tomatoes, the Morning Glories blossoming on the porch rail caught my eye and my heart leapt in gladness.

Goddamm!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

