Tomatoes, some thoughts….


Image

“You must live in the present, launch yourself on every wave, find your eternity in each moment. Fools stand on their island of
opportunities and look toward another land. There is no other land; there is no other life but this.”

Henry David Thoreau

 

An alarming thing happened this morning.  I woke in the dark, to cold!  The sound that woke me was my furnace,  running.  It seems a bit too early for chilly weather and oil heat when just last week it was summer and I’d turned on my air-conditioner a few times to cool down my room before I fell asleep. 

But, the signs are all there and ever-growing;  summer is on the way out with this chilly new-ness taking over.  It’s a bright and shiny day and Outside is pleasant with a scent and feel of warmth more reminiscent of summer than fall.  Inside is another story; typical September day when it’s warmer outside than it is In and a sure sign of coming days….  I’m wearing a heavy flannel shirt, long pants, socks & slippers.   My hands and nose are cold….

I went out to water my tomatoes and other plants around 9:30, when the sun started to warm things.  From the chilly notification of impending autumn, I’m looking at my tomatoes differently.  How many green?  How many days/weeks for them to grow big and ripen?  Will they make it?  How long will it take to ripen the ones that are turning pink?  How many  more tomatoes will develop from the newly formed flowers on the vine?  And the same with the zucchini; will the flowers of today have time and energy to turn into a few squash? 

Instead of taking for granted the scent of the tomato plants and the loveliness of the squash leaves and blossoms, I feel that I’m trying to take it all in, to somehow preserve it in my memory before Frost comes and Summer Garden ’13 is a thing of the past.

********

The tomatoes started to come-in early last week at a slow but steady pace.  I’ve had one or 2 daily and have even had enough to take a few to friends.  This is the time of year when one or two or even 3 tomato sandwiches per day is pretty much all the food I want or need.     Tomato sandwiches are my incentive to grow tomatoes in 5 gallon buckets in a small patch of sunlight between 2 houses.  I’d like to be able to grow enough to eat and also to freeze for Winter.  Maybe next year….

Inspired by tomatoes this morning, I picked one from the vine, set it on a table in the sun and used it as my model. 

When I was done with the painting, I cut up the tomato for a sandwich. 

Mind, soul and body have been nurtured.  Life goes on.   

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tomatoes, some thoughts….

  1. beetleypete says:

    I like the story of painting the tomato, and then eating it.
    That really is an excellent painting of a tomato, and would look nice on table mats, or coasters. I could easily see it selling well, in craft shop, or kitchen supply warehouse.
    Regards as always, Pete.

Leave a Reply

