Ordinary Things


Image 

“Rejoicing in ordinary things is not sentimental or trite. It actually takes guts. Each time we drop our complaints and allow everyday good fortune to inspire us, we enter the warrior’s world.”

 Pema Chödrön, The Places That Scare You: A Guide to Fearlessness in Difficult Times

August 17, ’13

I’m rejoicing today because I live in a house with a sunny window and a windowsill where I can place a green tomato.  Simple as that…..  Go figure….

I put in my hour on The Work.  Enlightenment didn’t come to me over the nagging voice of my Inner Critic.  Some of the nagging was justified. 

My house IS a mess….

With much to do to bring a sense of order….

Sauerkraut and Compost:

I bought a cabbage a few days ago that needed to dealt with asap.   The cabbage had been marked down for Quick Sale at the grocery store; I bought it with the intention of turning it into the beginning stages of Saurkraut the minute I got home — and didn’t.     Preparing the cabbage was high on the list of my Inner Critic, so this is where I started on my quest for a sense of order.

This will be an interesting batch.  Along with the shredded cabbage I also cut up 6 small green tomatoes from the Tomato Debacle of a few days ago.  Then, cut up a half zucchini that I intended to eat and then found a half of an onion on the verge of withering and threw that in, too.  And one entire red pepper that I also bought from the Quick Sale section when I bought the cabbage.

I’m very proud of my knack to make sauerkraut and make it often. 

I’m also proud of my compost, which is an ongoing project. 

My compost pit is a very large, round, shallow, red plastic flower pot.  It’s shaped like a very large Wok.  The lid of my compost pit is the tray that was supposed to go under the flower pot and the holes in the bottom of the pot keep the compost well-drained.  I’ve been using this method for years.    After the sauerkraut was prepared and settled in the crock, I went out in the sun to put the scraps in the pit. What goes into my compost is all fruit and vegetable kitchen scraps, egg shells, coffee grounds, paper egg cartons and paper coffee filters.  I check the pit daily, turn the contents frequently —  adding dried grass clippings if too wet, adding water if too dry.  Like salting the sauerkraut for optimum fermentation, I seem to have an intuitive knack of producing good compost. 

Sauerkraut fermenting in a crock, compost fermenting in a flower pot and a green tomato ripening on the windowsill – feeling a stronger sense of order already….   

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ordinary Things

  1. What a great idea for compost! I just dismantled my old and rotting bin, and have been trying to think of a good alternative. I was going to just use a trenching method to bury my kitchen waste between garden beds, but my little dog seems to want to investigate, even if it’s just coffee grounds and banana peels. Thanks!

  2. chris ludke says:

    interesting quote. I’d like to read more about the places that scare you and entering the warriors world

  3. Poetry in a compost bin!
    Thanks so much for following my blog. I’m happy to follow you back.

  4. I make kraut with thin slices or tiny chunks of kielbasi, carrots and potatoes.

  5. beetleypete says:

    I have never made sauerkraut, just buy it in jars! I do like it though, especially with bratwurst, and German mustard!
    Regards from England as always, Pete.

Leave a Reply

