Singing the Blues….


August 9, ‘13

Image 

“I merely took the energy it takes to pout and wrote some Blues.” 

Duke Ellington

I don’t know exactly what time the rain began.  I became consciously aware of it around 5am, in the dark of early morning when the steady sound of falling and running water woke me.    For a brief moment, somewhere between deep sleep and wide awake, I thought I was back on Culvert St, listening to the water running downhill in the culvert out back.   But, no.    What I was actually hearing was the rain on the roof and water running down the driveway and onto Brookside Ave. 

The sound of falling and running water is the prevalent sound of the day, so far, some 6 hours later.  Occasionally I hear a faraway thunder boom.  Very little traffic has gone by my house this morning. From East Main St,  I frequently hear fire, police or ambulance sirens followed by long periods of time with nothing but the sounds of the rain.

It’s  so dark and gray that it seems like the close of the day, not noontime.

The things I wanted to work on today were planned on the premise that there would be strong daylight.

Those things will have to wait.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Singing the Blues….

  1. beetleypete says:

    This sounds like some of my writing, an English view on weather, and how it affects your plans, and your moods. It is somehow comforting to know that this is not the only place where daytime seems like evening, for much of the year. Regards from England. Pete.

    • I think it’s the quirky weather that keeps us resilient. Yesterday and today are summer perfection and what a change in my mood and outlook since the all day rain on Friday. I took advantage of the rainy gray day and caught up on the sleep I missed the previous night. Best to you from New England, Gretchen

Leave a Reply

