Changes made to Stained Paper Curtains


July 5, ’13

Image

 

“Making your unknown known is the important thing. “  Georgia O’Keeffe

“I am always doing that which I cannot do in order that I may learn how to do it.” Picasso

I’ve never tried to paint on rice paper before so my thoughts as how to change the stains with watercolor paint didn’t quite work out.  I’d hoped to do some graded washes in the blue to bring out the yellow in the stain but soon learned that the paper is better for casual accidents than any kind of controlled application of paint.  When I realized that I wasn’t going to be able to make the changes I needed to make in paint, I went the motivational poster route.  I prepared the background with lots of water and paint, splashing it on with a big brush and lots of water, made some stippling marks in orange using a big Chinese Brush loaded with orange and kind of flung toward the wet paper, then finished it off with a toothbush loaded with Cadmium Red, to make an effect of fine stippling.

I did this work on the porch.  There’s a good breeze today, so the water and paint dried quickly.

Painting on Rice Paper is a whole lot like trying to paint a paper towel.

I’ve lettered on Rice paper before so decided to apply these motivational quotes with a lettering brush on one and a loaded Chinese Brush on the other. 

I’m satisfied with the change.

********

Today is hot and muggy.  It’s been hot and muggy for days, looks to be hot and muggy for many more days ahead.   At present, the temp is 95 degrees and the humidity index is at 63%.

Last week I read a recipe for a cooling drink called Switchel aka Haymakers Punch.  I was looking for a drink to keep me hydrated through this heat wave and maybe something that would serve as a detox drink through this time of upheaval in this house.  The article I read made a reference to Laura Ingalls Wilder’s book, Little House on the Praire in that this was the drink the women folk carried to the men who were cutting hay in the fields.  The article didn’t mention if Mrs Ingalls made Haymaker’s Punch with ground or fresh ginger.  As I recall, there’s a recipe for this in Joy of Cooking, too.  I read a few more online recipes for Switchel/Haymaker’s Punch and then made up a batch for myself.  At present, I’m working on the 3rd batch I’ve made so far this week.

The recipe I’m using goes like so.

2 cups water

2 teaspoons vinegar

3 packets Stevia sweetener (or 2- 4 teaspoons sugar or honey)

¼ teaspoon ginger – powdered or fresh grated

Stir all ingredients together, serve over ice.

To me, this is one fine drink.  Refreshing, tasty….  I’ve been using fresh grated ginger, probably closer to 1 teaspoon per 2 cups of water because I love ginger.  I made up a batch of Haymaker’s Punch last night – 6 cups worth in a tall pitcher.  The ginger flavor is stronger from having been in the water all night.  I’m loving the strong ginger flavor which is way stronger than ginger ale.  This drink has the refreshment power of lemonade without all the sugar.  And, oh, how cheap!

The next thing I’m going to do is to make up a batch and freeze it in the ice cube tray.  That way I’ll have the drink and then the same thing in the melting ice cubes.

********

I’d planned to paint all afternoon, but it’s too damned hot. 

Image 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Changes made to Stained Paper Curtains

  1. From June to mid August Miami is sauna all day. Never tried rice paper. I do not see place to subscribe to your blog. Usually box below “notify new post” or follow in widget margin. Thanks visit my blog.

Leave a Reply

