Thankful


Oil on canvas, WIP. First snow on Thanksgiving morning. The red berries on the tree looked like ornaments. It was windy and the snow was gone by noon. During the day, the red berries were meals for many birds. At the end of the day, the tree was bare.

If one’s life is simple, contentment has to come. Simplicity is extremely important for happiness. Having few desires, feeling satisfied with what you have, is very vital: satisfaction with just enough food, clothing, and shelter to protect yourself from the elements. And finally, there is an intense delight in abandoning faulty states of mind and in cultivating helpful ones in meditation.”  Dalai Lama

 

Nov 26, ‘12

 

At this time of National Thanksgiving, I’m taking this time and space to express my gratitude. 

I’m thankful that in the Now, my life has become simple and happy.  I feel that my dark night of the soul and my meditations this past winter led me to discover a trove of old paintings this past Spring which also led me to the realization that,  plain and simple, I had enough – which was everything I needed for my simple life and to finish these creations to my satisfaction – Time, Space, Energy, Health, Supplies, Resources and God’s will and mine being in-Synch.   

I’m thankful for a grateful heart which has led me to the contentment of doing the work I was intended – arranging pigment on flat surfaces — and for opening my mind to an unending flow of new possibilities.

I’m thankful for old friends and new – for old friends who feel new to me and for new friends I feel I’ve known forever.  I’m thankful for much help from all my friends and that I have friends to whom  I can reciprocate, who reach out to me and who are there for me when I reach out. 

I’m grateful for a balance of Solitude and Solidarity in my daily life.

I’m grateful for Reunions —  with old friends and new.  I’m thankful for Family, extended and biological.

I’m thankful for the ways and means for new supplies that will be arriving today and for The Universe that provides all good things to me and those I love.

I’m thankful for every new day and the gratitude I feel when I wake in the morning.

And so much more.

Thank you.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

