Orange, Blue and Cezanne


Image 

This is one of the paintings that had been stored away in a garbage bag in my sister’s barn with many other paintings.  It’s an oil on canvas and is from my Watertown Era which means that I began this painting sometime between ’86 – ’91.  In May, I spent an hour or so changing the tone – heightening and deepening.  This morning I spent an hour or so giving it more color.

The original version is shown below.

I’m beginning to see a finish to this work.  I’m gleefully anticipating signing this painting.  But not until I fix ‘the hole’ in the upper right hand corner….

And while I don’t  remember the exact year or season I began this painting, many other connections have been made in my memory and I think fondly on those days in that apartment in Watertown where I lived for 9 years.

*********************************************************************************************

We had rain last night.  It began around 9:30.  When I woke at 6:30 am, we were having another rain storm.  It seemed as if it might go on all day but it stopped and within the past hour; the sun is shining and the sky is innocent blue, without clouds and no more rain.  When I heard the rain begin last night, I breathed a sigh of relief.  I’d chosen not to water my gardens because earlier, when I was outside, I sensed rain in the air.  The Weather Channel validated my sense.  The ground is now well saturated and all my plants seem to be thriving.

Image   

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

