Born to Arrange Pigment on Flat Surfaces


Image

 

I brought what paint and supplies I needed from Little Pink to my dining room, now designated as my Winter Studio.  I’ve been bringing the paintings in and hanging them on the dining room wall.  I worked there last night and this morning.  The change of venue and viewpoint has been refreshing.

I spent a few hours working on the old paintings this morning, and then took the rest of the day off to do the mundane tasks that need to be done around the house and also spent some time playing Angry Birds.  The things I needed to do around the house were mostly gardening, cooking, cleaning and then I spent the entire evening putting a coat of primer on a large  bookcase in my bedroom.  I worked on the commission bookcase this past Thursday and thought that while I’m working on one, may as well be working on the other. 

A  highlight  today was eating the first tomato from my garden.  It was wonderful, flavorful and juicy, the most flavorful tomato I’ve had in years.  I felt proud to be eating a tomato from my garden.

I’m growing my tomatoes and one pepper in large containers in a sunny spot on the driveway behind my house.  I have 4 tomato plants, each one a different variety.  They’re all Heirloom tomatoes, for the taste and because I wanted tomatoes from seeds that weren’t genetically modified.   The tomato I had today is called a Black Crim.  It’s a deep red with a dark green crown.

There are approximately 20 tomatoes of good size in the garden now, all large but still green.  I think that a variety called Beefsteak will be ripe in a week or so and I anticipate that  enormously.   

I didn’t do as much painting today as I thought I might.  I console myself with the fact that I showed up and put in 3 hours.  Showing up is 80% of the job.  And tomorrow is another day.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

